Veto power countries behind UNSC’s failure to establish peace in Gaza, Ukraine: Pakistan

ISLAMABAD: Pakistan’s Permanent Representative to the United Nations Munir Akram has held the states having veto power responsible for the UN Security Council (UNSC)’s failure to establish peace in Ukraine and Gaza.

Akram on Monday said there were some advantages and disadvantages of permanent membership of the UNSC as the permanent members could paralyse the Security Council using veto power.

“We are trying to curtail the veto power of the permanent members,” the Pakistani envoy said adding that there was no point in adding new permanent members to the UNSC.

Urging for more non-permanent elected seats in the council, the Pakistani diplomat said that the UNSC should comprise 27 members with a majority of developing nations.

Five UNSC permanent members have veto power including China, France, Russia, the UK and USA. These countries have vetoed resolutions hundreds of times with Russia using the power 125 times and the US 82 times.

UN likely to vote on Gaza ceasefire today, US signals veto

Meanwhile, the UNSC is likely to vote on Tuesday (today) on an Algerian push for the 15-member body to demand an immediate humanitarian ceasefire in the Israel-Hamas war, said diplomats, a move the United States signaled it would veto.

Algeria put forward an initial draft resolution more than two weeks ago. But US Ambassador to the UN Linda Thomas-Greenfield quickly said the text could jeopardise “sensitive negotiations” aimed at brokering a pause in the war.

Algeria requested on Saturday that the council vote on Tuesday, diplomats said. To be adopted, UN Security Council resolution needs at least nine votes in favour and no vetoes by the United States, Britain, France, China or Russia.

“The United States does not support action on this draft resolution. Should it come up for a vote as drafted, it will not be adopted,” Thomas-Greenfield said in a statement on Saturday.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *